Showing 1 - 1 OF 1
ID Cards - CAC
690 Peary St
Newport, RI 02841
Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Rhode Island State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Finally, the State of Rhode Island also requires safety and emission inspections on vehicles registered in Rhode Island. Access complete information about Rhode Island's vehicle inspection program at the State Emissions and Safety Testing website.
One of your primary concerns upon reporting aboard will be to obtain authorization to bring your vehicle(s) aboard the complex. During working hours this authorization will be issued at the Main Pass Office located in building 1377 (prior to approaching Gate 1 on Luce Avenue). If reporting after working hours, passes for 24 to 72 hours may be obtained at either Gate 1 or Gate 17.
Certification by signature on Non-Government Vehicle Registration Form (OPNAV 5560/1) is required, signifying that you will abide by all traffic, security, and parking regulations and that you will possess an insurance policy that meets Rhode Island requirements of $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident, and $10,000 personal property liability.
Certification by signature also must be made relieving the government of liability for loss or damage not attributable to negligence of employees on official duty.
If operating a rental vehicle the rental agreement will suffice as the base access pass accompanied by a valid authorized ID.
Violations of state and local traffic laws may result in suspension of Naval Station driving privileges.
Traffic -- Speed limit on base is 20 mph unless otherwise posted, and 15 mph through housing. Radar is used randomly. Seat belts are mandatory. This is enforced on board Naval Station Newport at all times.
Vehicle Checks -- Vehicles entering or exiting the naval complex are subject to administrative inspections via various methods approved by the Installation Commander.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 6 years of age, 80 pounds and 54" in height be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website and the General Laws of the State of Rhode Island website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide. However, texting while operating a motor vehicle and the use of headsets, earphones or other earpiece devices are prohibited by law in the State.