Showing 1 - 1 OF 1
Annapolis ID Card Office
168 Bennion Road
Annapolis, MD 21402 (2nd deck)
Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Maryland State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Effective July 1, all bases that fall under Navy Installations Command are no longer requiring vehicle decals for base access.
Pass and ID
All military and civilian faculty and staff must register their vehicles with the USNA Complex Pass and Tag Office located at the Visitors Access Center at Gate 1 to the U.S. Naval Academy. The Center is located at the corner of King George and Randall Streets. Call 410-293-5762 for information. The office is open Monday - Friday, 7:30 A.M. - 2:30 P.M.
To register your vehicle, bring the following:
Maryland State Traffic Laws are strictly enforced (patrols/radar). Three citations in a 12 month period will result in a warning letter. Fourth citation results in loss of driving and parking privileges aboard the USNA Complex.Motorcycles -- Require completed approved safety course and proper safety gear.
A military member, who does not claim Maryland as his/her state of residence, is not required to obtain a Maryland driver's license or register a car (in their name alone) in Maryland. This is based on the protections of the Soldiers and Sailors Civil Relief Act (Federal Law). However, they must maintain a valid driver's license and registration in some state or D.C.
If a military member's spouse or family member accompanies them to Maryland, and they are likely to reside in Maryland for more than 1 year, Maryland law requires them to get Maryland licenses. Spouses are supposed to get a Maryland driver's license if they work in the state.
To obtain a MD driver's license, you must appear in person with your current license, SSN, proof of insurance, and original or certified copy of your birth certificate.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 6 years of age and 40 pounds be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
A safety inspection is required when a vehicle is brought into the state or ownership changes. Vehicle Emissions Inspections are required every two years and cost $14. Automobile owners are notified by mail when inspection is due. For information on Vehicle Emissions inspections, call 410-768-7000.