Get the latest on the Coronavirus outbreak for the military community on Military OneSource.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Marine Corps
Pass & Registration
Yuma, AZ 85369
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
MCAS Yuma does require that you register your vehicle(s) at the Pass and Registration Office. Personnel reporting for duty must register their vehicle within 30 days of their reporting date. In order to register your vehicle you must provide the following:
Active Duty Marines do not need to register their vehicle with the State of AZ. The State of AZ allows active duty military to have a Military Exception, (You may obtain from the Law Center on base) if their home of record is not AZ.
Active Duty Marines do not need to register their vehicle with the State of AZ. The State of AZ allows active duty military to have a Military Exception, (You may obtain from the Law Center on base) if their home of record is not AZ. The cost to register your vehicle the first year is $13.50 and $9.95 every year henceforth.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 5 years of age and 80 lbs and four feet, nine inches tall be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
North Gate entrance for all vehicles and will be at 5th signal.
What does this mean to families?
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children between 5 and 8 years old. Many of these children were not properly restrained. To improve safety for children, Arizona increased the length of time for children to be in a child safety seat to age 8. This law does allow a police officer to stop a car if a child is not seat belted in a child safety seat.
Yes, many communities across AZ have child passenger technicians.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Insurance Requirements -- Arizona State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance, including $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident, and $10,000 for property coverage.