SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Marine Corps
DEERS ID / CAC Card Office
Building 1044 Seldon 1st Floor, Rm 102
MCBH Kaneohe Bay, HI 96863-3062
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
To obtain a base car pass for a leased car, the lease agreement must have the service member's name and the car VIN on it and a copy of the lease agreement.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Hawaii State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Prior to registering a vehicle on base, vehicle owners must register it with the state of Hawaii within ten (10) days of the vehicle's arrival. Vehicle owners may keep original plates, must register it to get a Hawaii vehicle sticker. Proof of ownership or a certificate of registration; shipping documents, Hawaii no fault insurance and proof of a safety inspection is required.
Vehicle Safety Inspection
Hawaii requires annual vehicle safety inspections and it is required prior to registering a vehicle. All privately owned vehicles, regardless of state of registration, must display a valid state of Hawaii inspection sticker. Also, the mechanical conditions and equipment present must meet, and continue to meet, the requirements for state inspection.
Any authorized vehicle service station displaying the "Official Vehicle Safety Inspection Station" sign can conduct the inspection. For inspection, bring the following:
All privately owned vehicles operating on any MCB Hawaii installations, housing sites, or training areas must be registered at the base pass house. Service members are required to present these items at time of registration:
Cell Phone use while Driving
Honolulu’s ban on drivers using cell phones and other electronic devices went into effect on July 1, 2009. The mayor signed Bill 4 into law and the law prohibits the use of cell phones without a hands-free device while operating a motor vehicle. It also prohibits text messaging, the use of laptop computers, e-mailing, taking photos and electronic game-playing while driving. Violators will be subject to fines of $15 to $100. The legislation exempts emergency responders performing official duties and the use of two-way radios used for work-related duties. The measure does not prohibit the use of a vehicle’s radio, CD player or navigational equipment, equipment providing emergency assistance to the vehicle operator, or video entertainment to passengers in rear seats.
Hawaii's Booster Seat Law
As of January 1, 2007, Hawaii is the 35th state to have a booster seat law. This law requires children between the ages of four (4) through seven (7) to ride in a booster seat whenever traveling in a motor vehicle. The only exemptions are if the child is over 4'9" or if the vehicle has lap-only seat belts in the rear seat.
A Hawaii State tax credit of $25 per year applies to the purchase of a booster or child safety seat. The driver is held responsible for compliance with the law. Violators are required to attend a 4-hour class and may be assessed a fine of $100-$500 depending upon the number of offenses.
Hawaii’s Seat Belt Law
The Click It or Ticket campaign combines the efforts of the state departments of Transportation, Health and Education; the four county police departments representing Honolulu, Kauai, Hawaii and Maui counties; University of Hawaii; the Federal Highway Administration; the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Association, local business and religious leaders, and Safe Community coalitions. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, under the U.S. Department of Transportation, oversaw and funded the national campaign.
Hawaii’s universal seat belt law requires that all front and back seat motor vehicle occupants buckle up. Adults and children must use their seat belts and child restraints at all times. The cost of a ticket for not buckling up is $102 on Oahu, Maui and Hawaii, and $112 on Kauai.
The child passenger restraint law requires children under 4 years of age to ride in a child safety seat, and children between the ages of 4 and 8 years to ride in either a child safety seat or a booster seat. Violators of this law are required to attend a four-hour class and may be assessed a fine between $100 and $500 depending upon the number of offenses
For more information about the Click It or Ticket campaign, contact the Safe Community Office at 808-587-6300.
Hawaii recognizes other state driver's licenses. When the current license expires, if you wish to apply for a Hawaii driver's license, you must present your Social Security Card, and a current out-of-state license. For further information, visit http://www.honolulu.gov/csd/dllicense.html
If your out-of-state license has expired, you will be required to file an application form, complete a written examination, pass an eye test, and pass a road test.
Effective April 30, 2008, the expired driver's license of a member of any component of the United States armed forces who is on active federal service and whose driver's license expired while deployed outside of the United States, shall remain valid for ninety days after the service member's return to the United States.
Beginning November 3, 2008, Hawaii driver's licenses issued to applicants 25 through 71 years of age shall expire on the first birthday eight years from the date of issuance. Licensees under the age of 25 shall be issued a four year license, except for provisional licenses which shall expire on applicant's 19th birthday.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving; you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 7 years of age be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Satellite City Halls provide many government services and handle all vehicle registration and renewal transactions for the general public. The satellites are administered by the City's Customer Services Department. For general information concerning the satellites and their services, call 808-768-3798. Driver's license offices are also decentralized; for information, call 808-768-9100
Prior to arriving on island, consult your current insurance company about Hawaii no-fault insurance. If possible, obtain a valid Hawaii no-fault insurance card showing policy number and expiration date prior to or upon arriving on island. Failure to show proof of insurance is an automatic fine of $1000.