Meet overall wellness goals and manage COVID-19 stress with My MilLife Guide. Learn how to opt in to eight weeks of helpful texts delivered to your device.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Army
9800 Belvoir Road
Fort Belvoir, VA 22060-5561
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Use of DOD decals/vehicle registration was discontinued on Fort Belvoir and the Military District of Washington, effective 5 November 2011. Holders of DoD-issued ID cards will be able to enter post at ANY gate.
If you are an active-duty member of the military stationed in Virginia, you, your spouse and dependent children may drive with a valid driver's license issued by your home state or country. You are not required to obtain a Virginia driver's license.
While stationed in Virginia, if you purchase a vehicle, you may title and register that vehicle in your home state, or you may title and register the vehicle in Virginia. Vehicles titled and registered in your name may be driven with valid out-of-state license plates if you are the sole owner. If the vehicle is co-owned and out-of-state plates are used, all co-owners must be active duty members of the Armed Forces. If all the co-owners are not active duty members, the vehicle will need to be registered in Virginia.
When titling your vehicle in Virginia, you are required to pay a title fee and four percent motor vehicle sales and use tax that is based on the vehicle's sale price. There is a $75 minimum tax. If you hold a valid, assignable title or registration issued in your name by another state or branch of the military, you will not have to pay the motor vehicle sales and use tax. However, if you purchased the vehicle within the preceding 12 months, to be exempt in Virginia you must provide proof that the sale and use tax was paid elsewhere.
To operate your vehicle in Virginia it must be covered by the minimum insurance requirements or pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee. Virginia requires the following minimum coverage:
For further information please visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicle website.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.