Get the latest on the Coronavirus outbreak for the military community on Military OneSource.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Marine Corps
E. Street, Building 298
MCAS Cherry Point, NC 28532
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
North Carolina State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 8 years of age and 80 pounds be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Registering Vehicles on Base
North Carolina law requires a minimum insurance coverage of at least $25,000 property damage coverage, $30,000 per person per occurrence/$60,000 total per occurrence for bodily injury. These figures apply in order to register your vehicle aboard Cherry Point.
Speed Limits -- The Air Station speed limit is 20 to 45 mph where posted. All government housing areas have 15-20 mph speed limits, and parking lots have a 10 mph speed limit. When approaching or passing columns of troops in formation or other pedestrians on the road, the speed limit is 10 mph.
Seat Belts -- Seat Belts are mandatory - wear them! It's a DoD regulation and a North Carolina state law that seat belts will be worn in government and civilian vehicles on or off station by all vehicle occupants. A child less than 8 years of age must be restrained, no matter where seated, by an appropriate child restraint system. Children, 4 years old and under, must be in a federally approved child car safety seat.
Vehicle Checks -- Vehicle checks are held periodically aboard the Air Station. When aboard Cherry Point, you must yield to any request for a vehicle check. Identification cards are requested after 11 pm each evening and up to 5 am, and the car may be inspected during these hours. Road checks are periodically held in the surrounding communities.
Flight Line -- The flight line is restricted and closed off with fences and limited access. Some buildings aboard Cherry Point have limited access and are visibly marked.
Accidents -- Accidents occurring aboard Cherry Point and in the adjacent communities must be reported. The law protects a person who stops and renders aid at a scene of an accident from civil liability except for intentional wrongdoing or unruly conduct.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.