SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Navy
Visitor Control Center Naval Base Kitsap-Bangor
1035 Trident Boulevard
Silverdale, WA 98315
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
Washington State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
All private vehicles operated or parked on the base must be registered with Pass and ID. There must be proof of insurance, you must have a valid state operator's license and vehicle registration in order to obtain base registration. For more information please call: (360)396-4665 or (360)476-4882 or (360)396-2583. Active Duty service members will receive a vehicle decal that must be placed on vehicle. Vehicles are subject to random search while on base. Prohibited items include explosives, small arms and ammunition, hazardous material, any controlled substance and open containers of intoxicating beverages.
Concealed weapons, firearms, dangerous weapons, instruments, devices and highly explosive compounds or items are prohibited on Naval Base Kitsap and tenant activities. Firearms are permitted in base housing except for the BEQ and BOQ but must be registered with Base Security. Firearms belonging to bachelor quarters personnel will be kept in the base armory. For further info call Security: 360-396-6555 (Bangor), 360-476-8232 (Bremerton), 360-396-2582 (NUWC Keyport), or DSN 312-744-6555.
Persons granted driving privileges on Naval Base Kitsap assume moral and legal responsibility for the safe operation of such vehicles and are require to have knowledge of, and comply with, State of Washington motor vehicle laws and other such regulations as issued by the Commanding Officer of Naval Base Kitsap.
Washington motor vehicle laws apply to all personnel and vehicles on Naval Base Kitsap. The Commanding Officer, Naval Base Kitsap, retains the right to apply and enforce additional measures in keeping with the security and safety of the command.
Speed Limits -- The speed limit on Naval Base Kitsap is 25 miles per hour, unless otherwise posted. The speed limit in parking lots is 10 miles per hour.
All drivers of motor vehicles are required to use due care and caution when driving and shall further restrict speed limits as road, weather, or vehicle conditions may require.
Restricted Areas -- Areas are detailed in Naval Base Kitsap Security Manual, areas include: Operational Area (OA), waterfront area, weapons support and refit facilities.
Photography -- Cameras are allowed in all areas controlled by the Naval Base Kitsap Commanding Officer. Tenant commands have special requirements and should be contacted prior to bringing photography equipment into their spaces.
Motorcycles and Mopeds -- Motorcycles and mopeds will be operated with headlights on at all times. Operators and passengers shall wear protective helmets, eye protection, and protective clothing as required by the U.S. Navy Safety Center. Motorcycles and mopeds may not be operated on bicycle paths or bikeways, equestrian, hiking or recreational trails.
All bicycles operated on Naval Base Kitsap shall conform to these standards:
Jogging, skateboarding, and rollerblading -- When using streets or roadways for jogging, skateboarding, and rollerblading, personnel shall face traffic and wear bright or light colored clothing at all times.
Personnel are not authorized to use the following roadways during 6:30-7:30 am and 3:30-4:30 pm: Trigger Ave, Trident Blvd, Escolar, Sealion and Flyer.
Personnel shall not jog, skateboard, or rollerblade on Naval Base Kitsap roadways after street lights are on.
Seat Belt and Child Safety Seat Regulations:
All persons operating or riding in or on any U.S. Government vehicle may not ride in seating positions where safety belts have not been installed or have been removed or rendered inoperative. Additionally, passengers shall not ride in cargo areas of motor vehicles.
The driver of a U.S. Government vehicle is responsible for ensuring seat belts are properly used in the vehicle.
The operator of any private motor vehicle on any Naval Station is responsible for informing all passengers of applicable safety belt and child safety seat regulations.
All children under age four, weighing less than 40 pounds, shall use an infant or child safety seat in a proper manner, approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation, while riding in a private motor vehicle on a Naval Station.
Passes and Permits
Dependents 10 years and older are required to have a dependent ID card. This is of special importance at Naval Base Kitsap because the card serves as a gate pass for dependents. Arrangements for ID cards are made through Personnel Support Detachment, Naval Base Kitsap-Bangor, which has an ID card branch at Naval Base Kitsap-Bremerton.
New state residents are required to obtain a driver's license within 30 days of establishing residency. You are considered a resident when you register to vote, receive state benefits, seek in-state tuition fees, or apply for any state license at the residential rate. Special considerations exist for active duty military; please consult the Drivers Guide for the latest information. Obtain a copy of the Washington State Drivers Guide at one of the licensing offices or online.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children less than eight years old must be restrained in child restraint systems, unless the child is four feet nine inches or taller. A child who is eight years old or older, or four feet nine inches or taller, must be properly restrained either with the motor vehicle's safety belt or an appropriately fitting child restraint system. Children under thirteen years old must be transported in rear seats where it is practical to do so.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many states and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Use of a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle, with or without a “hands free” device, is prohibited on Naval Base Kitsap and in any government vehicle, regardless of location. Using a cell phone without a “hands free” device or texting is now a primary offense in the State of Washington (except in emergency reporting situations) and will result in a $124 fine.