SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Army
ID/CAC Card Processing
1853 O'Connell Boulevard
Fort Carson, CO 80913
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
Registration & License: Colorado state law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Obtain a Colorado Driver's License: Active Duty and their Families need not obtain a Colorado driver's license if they are 16 years of age or older and possess a valid driver's license from their home state or state of last assignment. Anyone requiring assistance, can visit the on-post El Paso County Clerk & Recorder/DMW office located in the Mountain Post Soldier Center, Bldg. 1525. Services include motor vehicle transactions (renewals, title transfers, liens), elections, recording and limited driver’s license services. Wait times available online. Please note, a USAREUR license is valid for 45 days. If you do not possess a valid stateside license, you will have to take the written test; visit the North Union Blvd location. Written exams are available in English, German, Spanish, and Korean.
Registering Vehicles on-post: All personnel entering Fort Carson are required to register their vehicle at the Visitors Center (See Visitor, Contractor & Vendor Access Process Header), Bldg. 6012, located outside of the Main Gate (Gate 1). You'll need your driver’s license, current vehicle registration, Military or DoD Civilian ID, and proof of vehicle insurance. Note, all vehicles entering Fort Carson are subject to a random vehicle search and or inspection. Each unit conducts pre-holiday vehicle safety checks. Direct questions to the Military Police, 526.2333.
State Laws: While driving, seatbelts are required at all times. Colorado law requires infants under 1 year old and 20 lbs. to ride in the back seat only in a rear-facing safety seat; there are no exemptions. Note, Army Emergency Relief (AER) provides assistance for car seats or booster seats; for details, call 719.526.4783. Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. For up-to-date motorcycle laws, visit the Colorado Department of Transportation.
Many states and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide. Colorado law bans the use of cell phones for drivers under the age of 18 at all times; to include texting, emailing and twittering.
Cell Phone Usage: Drivers are not allowed to use their device on Fort Carson when the vehicle is in motion, to include stops at signs and lights. First time offenders are issued a citation and second time offenders are issued a citation, fines and a one-year driving suspension letter for Fort Carson.
Child Restraints: Colorado state traffic laws apply and are strictly enforced. Seatbelts are mandatory on and off Fort Carson. The child restraint seats will be secured in the rear seat of vehicles. Colorado law requires infants under 1 year old and 20 lbs. to ride in the back seat only in a rear-facing safety seat; there are no exemptions. Note, AER provides assistance for car seats or booster seats; for details call 719.526.4783.
Speed Limits: Fort Carson speed limits are 10 MPH when passing troops, 20 MPH in housing areas, and 30 MPH in all other areas unless otherwise posted. Safety is priority, help prevent accidents before they occur. Questions should be directed to the Military Police, 719.526.2333.
Auto Insurance: Any individual operating a vehicle on Fort Carson is responsible for carrying and producing proof of current motor vehicle insurance. Direct questions to the Military Police at 719.526.2333.
Motorcycle Safety: All individuals entering Fort Carson must attend a safety briefing before driving a motorcycle and must wear a helmet and a reflector vest. Any person operating a motorcycle or self-propelled two, three or four wheel vehicle that is powered by a motorcycle type engine will adhere to the following guidelines: approved Department of Transportation type helmet, full-fingered gloves, eye protection, long pants, long-sleeved shirt or jacket, high-visibility garments for daylight operations and reflector material for night or reduced-visibility. Leather boots or over the ankle shoes (not tennis or athletic shoes) must be worn by all operators on Fort Carson and by military personnel both on and off Fort Carson, whether on-duty or off-duty. Colorado does not have a helmet law, but all Active Duty personnel are required to wear a helmet regardless of being on or off post.
The Colorado Traction Law was updated in 2019; if you will be traveling on I-70, please make sure you review the new requirements for travel. You can also visit: