Meet overall wellness goals and manage COVID-19 stress with My MilLife Guide. Learn how to opt in to eight weeks of helpful texts delivered to your device.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Army
ID Card/CAC Processing
35 South M Street
Fort McCoy, WI 54656
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
Registering Vehicles on Base
Fort McCoy has eliminated the vehicle registration requirement in accordance with ALARACT 343/2011.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Wisconsin State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver's license in order to operate a vehicle. The term "vehicle" generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. (See below under the WI Driver's License and Registration areas) Access complete information on insurance, driver's licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.: www.dot.wisconsin.gov
To register a vehicle in the state of WI, you must have the title or registration card. If you are choosing to register the vehicle in WI as a non-resident, or if you purchased the vehicle within 90 days of becoming a resident in WI, you must show proof of tax paid (at least 5% state and .5% local tax). If you have paid tax to another jurisdiction, your home state, please provide proof of that tax paid to WI DMV.
Foreign-made vehicles have to be inspected at port-of-entry to see if they meet EPA emission standards and receive certification. Wisconsin needs all certifications verifying the vehicle meets standards.
If you are not registering your vehicle in WI, check with your home state about keeping your out of state plates and/or registration of your vehicle.
All state and federal regulations about cell phones, texting, seat-belt use, motorcycle safety, etc., apply at Fort McCoy. In some cases, federal regulations are more restrictive than state or local laws.A summary of regulations follows. Specific questions should be directed to the Directorate of Emergency Services at 608-388-2000.
If you are establishing residency in Wisconsin (renting or owning a residence, paying WI taxes, children attending school, or voting), you need to apply for a WI driver's license within 60-days. Drivers with a Commercial Driver License (CDL) only have 30-days to apply. To obtain the WI driver's license, a service member must surrender their current state driver's license, provide proof of legal presence and proof of WI residency. A vision test is required of all individuals. Those not having a U.S. driver's license need to complete written and road tests. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. www.dot.wisconsin.gov
If you are not establishing WI residency, check with your home state about renewal of current driver's license.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving or you will be ticketed by enforcement and issued a fine if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 8 years of age, 80 pounds and 57" in height be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat. Children less than 4 years old or less than 20 pounds must be located in the back seat, if a back seat is present.
Motorcycles and Mopeds, along with their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle or moped, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. www.dot.wisconsin.gov
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.