Get the latest on the Coronavirus outbreak for the military community on Military OneSource.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Army
ID Card Section/DEERS
3401 Santiago Avenue
Fort Wainwright, AK 99703
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Alaska State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Registration fees for vehicles in Alaska are based on the year of your car. A six percent road tax is charged at the time of registration plus a license plate fee. If your auto is registered in another state, in the active duty member's name, and the member maintains residency and a current driver's license for that state, you will not be required to purchase Alaskan license plates.
The license plates that are presently on your auto must be current at all times. If you intend to register your auto in the state of Alaska the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) prefers that you register your vehicle through the U.S. postal system rather than in person, as it adds to the congestion at the DMV. After the initial registration of your vehicle(s) at the DMV office, a fee of $10 is charged to you if register in person. Vehicle registration fees are approximately $70 for a non-commercial owned vehicle. Alaska is a two plate state.
Active duty members who maintain residency in another state and hold a current driver's license of that state will not be required to obtain an Alaska driver's license. However, spouses and family members are not exempt! If a family member (dependent) plans to drive in Alaska they will be required to obtain an Alaska license within 90 days of arrival. Spouse do not have to obtain a driver Alaska state driver license. If you currently hold a license in another state you will not be required to take the driving test to get an Alaska license, however you will be required to take the written exam and the vision exam.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 3 years of age be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Speed Limit -- The speed limit on post is 20 miles per hour unless otherwise posted.
Seat Belts -- All persons are required to wear seatbelts on post. Child safety restraints are required for children under 4 years of age or under 40 pounds.
Tinted windows -- No mirrored tinting is allowed in Alaska. After market tinting is permissible as follows:
If you are planning to drive or ship a POV to Alaska between the months of September and April, it must be winterized prior to the trip.
For further information contact the Provost Marshal Office at 907-353-7535.
Suggestions for Winterizing Your Vehicle
Wash your vehicle thoroughly including undercarriage and - especially the wheel wells and wax vehicle for protection. Undercoat wheel wells with canned undercoating-spray. (Outside on a warm day or inside heated garage with a breathing mask). Install a block type engine block heater (pay mechanic). Optional, a transmission heater, engine oil pan heater (pay mechanic). You should install a battery blanket or battery trickle charger (blanket, band-aid or plate type); make certain the blanket is the right length to go all the way around. Connect 3, 4, & 5 to a 3 or 4-hole receiver short cord under the radiator to grill or bumper. Optional, you can bolt on a black cord-holder to grill or bumper. Then you can connect 15' extreme cold weather cord around cord holder. Attach a tiny testing light to the end of the cord - a GOOD idea. Change engine oil to 5W-30 or a synthetic; change antifreeze to a -60 degrees. Change oil, gas, and engine filters. Belts snap easily in the cold, change if any signs of cracking and carry a spare. Check wiper blades--optional, drain and leave just a little windshield washer liquid in the container. Check all headlights. If needed, pay for tune-up. Grease door jams and put powdered graphite into door locks. Repack non-drive wheel bearings with Alaskan weather grade grease. Optional, buy 2 or 4 studded mud/snow tires or a set of chains. Inflate tires in late November to maximum PSI, and cap the valves. Never inflate tires outside in cold weather; go inside heated garage or the icy air will freeze valve open. Carry a severe cold sleeping bag for each person in the back seat (not in the frozen trunk), and food, gloves, boots, socks, flares, candles, etc. Some people like rubber floor mats to keep snow/ice off the floor carpet. Pour one of bottle gas-line antifreeze (Heet or Iso-Heet) in tank before severe cold weather. Use isopropyl alcohol type for newer cars, regular type for older cars. Some people add a bottle every/every other fill-up during winter. Some carry a small, cheap CB radio (or cell phone) for emergencies. Optional, portable electric tire pump that plugs into the cigarette lighter. On severely cold mornings (-45), tires will be low and drive like they're square. Drive very slowly for the first 2-3 miles until they warm up/round out. Drive slower and brake earlier before intersections, and pump the brake pedal--don't pump if you have an anti-lock brake system (ABS).