SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
Department of the Air Force
ID/CAC Card Processing (Military Personnel Section)
226 Steen Blvd.
Grand Forks AFB, ND 58205
After duty hours emergencies
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
To keep up to date with North Dakota road conditions, download the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) Mobile Travel Information App. Grand Forks AFB service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites. Other useful transportation related facts and information such as drivers license application/renewal, statewide construction projects, road conditions and more can be found on North Dakota Department of Transportation
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to Grand Forks. For more information regarding North Dakota’s state laws visit the Governor's Highway Safety Association webpage (https://www.ghsa.org/).
Firearms: Grand Forks has strict firearms laws; please check for the latest informational updates at Century Code North Dakota Attorney General on ND gun laws and those in the states you will pass through on your way to Grand Forks Air Force Base ND. Weapons registration (AF Form 1314/DD Form 2760) is MANDATORY for all personnel living on GFAFB. You MUST register your privately owned firearm (POF) ASAP or within 72 hours of purchase/or arrival to the installation.
Best North Dakota Practices For Firearm Transport
Additional firearm laws, provisions and information can be found on nd.gov
Speed Limits: The GFAFB installation speed limit is 30 MPH unless posted otherwise.
Traffic accidents, moving, and parking violations may result in suspension or revocation actions and/or traffic point assessments on GFAFB. It is illegal to enter a road that is officially closed due to hazardous conditions. The penalty for doing this is a $250 fine.
[IAW AFI 31-218] “Persons who drive on the installation shall be deemed to have given their consent to evidential tests for alcohol or other drug content of their blood, breath, or urine when lawfully stopped, apprehended, or cited for any offense allegedly committed while driving or in control of a motor vehicle on military installations to determine the influence of intoxicants.
Seat Belts: Seat belts are mandatory on and off base for vehicle operators and passengers. Operators are responsible for ensuring all occupants comply with the seat belt rule, and will be cited if they or any passengers are not in compliance. Multiple citations for failure to comply with this will also lead to suspension of base driving privileges. North Dakota’s seat belt law requires all front seat occupants to wear seat belts. Occupants under the age of 18 must be buckled up in both the front- and rear-seating positions.
Children younger than 8 years of age are required to ride in a child restraint (car seat or booster seat). The restraint must be used correctly – following the manufacturer’s instructions. A correctly-used seat belt may be substituted for children younger than 8 who are at least 4’9” tall. Children ages 8 through 17 must be properly secured in a seat belt or child restraint (car seat or booster seat). Children younger than 18 must be properly restrained regardless of their location in a vehicle. The penalty for violating this law is $25 and one point against the license of the driver. The driver is responsible for ensuring that all occupants are buckled up in the appropriate restraint.
Have your child’s car seat or booster seat checked by one of the many certified child passenger safety technicians available throughout the state. To find a child passenger safety technician, contact the North Dakota Department of Health, Child Passenger Safety Program at 800.472.2286, or via the following site; North Dakota Department of Health Child Passenger Safety Program https://www.safercar.gov/, select car seats
Car Seat Checkups are offered the second Thursday of every month from 4:00-7:00 p.m. at Rydell Cars 2700 S. Washington St., (South side of Rydell Service Center entrance). Car seat checks are also offered various days during the fourth week of every month at Fire Station 5 1002 47th Ave. S., Grand Forks (appointments preferred for Fire Station) For the latest updated information contact Safe Kids Grand Forks at 701-780-1489.
Radar Detectors and dashboard cameras (GoPro): The use of radar detectors and dashboard cameras is prohibited on Grand Forks AFB. Photography is strictly prohibited at all entry control points and the search area. Contact Public Affairs at 701-747-5023.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
Seatbelts: “Everyone every time”, you and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 8 years old or 4 feet 9 inches in height be properly restrained in child seats.
Motorcycles: Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. The ND Motorcycle Operators Manual can be viewed at ND Motorcycle Operators Manual. Grand Forks AFB offers a Motorcycle Safety Course, contact the Safety Office at 701-747-7233 for additional information.
"Move Over Laws": ND states enforce "move over" laws requiring highway drivers to slow down and shift lanes when they are coming up on emergency vehicles.
ND law prohibits drivers under the age of 18y.o. from using ANY electronic communications devices, including cell phones while driving. All drivers are prohibited from texting.
The North Dakota DMV Handbook contains additional information and DMV locations.
Registration & Licensing Requirements along with driver education, training and safety laws can be found on the North Dakota Department of Transportation site.