Get the latest on the Coronavirus outbreak for the military community on Military OneSource.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Air Force
49 Force Support Squadron
681 Second St.
Holloman AFB, NM 88330
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
New Mexico State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the New Mexico State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
The base speed limit is 30 MPH unless otherwise posted. It is reduced in all housing areas. While driving in parking lots, your speed must be adjusted to ensure safety and never exceed 5 MPH. Driving in school zones is reduced to 15 MPH when children are present or when light is flashing. Pedestrians in crosswalks have the right-of-way. Vehicles must stop until pedestrians have cleared ALL lanes of traffic before proceeding. A good rule of thumb is that their foot is on the curb. Radar Detectors -- Active radar detectors are not allowed on base.
The use of seat belts and child restraint seats are required on base and throughout the state. Children must be in a restraint seat if under 4 years of age or if weight is 50 pounds or less.
Military members are required to wear a helmet and brightly colored clothing when operating a motorcycle both on and off the installation. The 49th Wing Safety Office can be contacted for the latest motorcycle requirements including mandatory courses.
If you have a recreational vehicle (RV) or any kind of trailer, you cannot keep it parked in the housing area for longer than 24 hours. This is in accordance with the HAFB housing pamphlet 32-7, AFI 31-204/HAFB Supplement 1 and HAFBI 34-201. The 24 hour limit allows for loading and unloading before and after use. If you want to keep the RV/trailer on base, it must be stored in the RV parking lot located at 5th Street and Arkansas. Spaces are assigned and controlled by Outdoor Recreation at 575-572-5369/7329. Their office is located in Building 234, 661 Delaware Avenue.
Bicycle helmets are mandatory for all people who ride bicycles on Holloman AFB. Bicycles must be equipped with a headlight visible from 500 feet and a rear deflector visible from 300 feet during darkness.
These are allowed on base but are prohibited on the following major roadways: 1st St., New Mexico Ave., Delaware Ave., Sabre Rd., 49er Ave., Mesquite Rd., Patterson Dr., Arnold Ave., Fairchild Dr. Helmets are required and the use of protective gear (knee and elbow pads) is highly recommended while rollerblading/skateboarding.
Vehicle operators on a DoD Installation and operators of Government owned vehicles shall not use cell phones unless the vehicle is safely parked or unless they are using a hands-free device. The wearing of any other portable headphones, earphones, or other listening devices (except of hand-free cellular phones) while operating a motor vehicle is prohibited.
Use of those devices impairs driving and masks or prevents recognition of emergency signals, alarms, announcements, the approach of vehicles, and human speech. DoD Component safety guidance should note the potential for driver distractions such as eating and drinking, operating radios, CD players, global positioning equipment, etc. Whenever possible this should only be done when the vehicle is safely parked.
Vehicle Checks -- There is no state required vehicle inspection in the state of New Mexico.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the New Mexico State Motor Vehicle Division page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 6 years of age and 60 pounds be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.