Showing 1 - 1 OF 1
DEERS ID/CAC CARD CENTER
2034 Barnett Ave. (Little Hall)
Quantico, VA 22134
Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
Registration and Licensing
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Virginia State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
To register a privately owned vehicle aboard the command, you must have $25,000/$50,000/-$20,000 insurance coverage and a current safety inspection sticker if the vehicle is registered in Virginia. All individuals under 26 years of age must complete a military driver's improvement course to obtain permanent base driving privileges.
The Vehicle Registration Office is located at 27130a Telegraph Road, MCB Quantico, VA 22485. Hours of operation are 0700-1530 Mon-Fri. Please call 703-432-7375 for more information.
If the vehicle is registered in a state other than Virginia, it is the individual's responsibility to comply with applicable state regulations where his/her vehicle is registered with regard to mechanical/safety inspection requirements. Emissions inspections are required in some local counties. For more information, call the Vehicle Registration Office at 703-432-7375.
Safety and Emission Inspections
Motor vehicles parked in Virginia overnight on a routine basis are required to satisfy the current safety inspections imposed by the state of registry. If registered in Virginia, an annual safety inspection is required, and based upon their age, most vehicles must also pass an emission control test every two years.
You may operate a vehicle with a valid driver's license issued by the state in which your automobile is registered or by Virginia. Family members may operate a vehicle with a valid driver's license issued by the state they are from. Virginia Motor Vehicle Department examinations are conducted at the same locations as vehicle registration.
If you live on base, trailers, oversize trucks and any recreational vehicle must be registered at the Vehicle Registration Office. The Quantico Marina is the contact for long-term storage. For space, call 703-784-2359, Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Seatbelts/Child Safety Seats -- Use of seatbelts aboard Quantico is mandatory. Virginia law requires that children under 8 years of age be restrained in a child safety seat that meets federal standards. Virginia law requires all children age six through age 15 to be properly secured in an approved child safety seat, booster seat or safety belt no matter where the child is seated in the vehicle.
Bicycles -- All personnel who ride bicycles on installation streets and roadways must wear approved helmets.
Accidents -- All accidents on base must be reported to PMO regardless of damage at 703-784-2252.
Operators of motorcycles, mopeds, scooters, and ATVs must meet requirements for registration of motor vehicles and must have a valid driver's license stipulating that the individual is qualified to operate a motorcycle (if the individual has other than a Virginia driver's license).
Regardless of age or rank, all personnel must complete a motorcycle safety course. Operators and passengers must wear helmets and adequate protective clothing when riding a motorcycle. Regulations require motorcycles to have headlights on at all times and riders to wear reflective vests aboard base.
If you live on base, The Quantico Marina is the contact for long-term storage of trailers, oversize trucks and any recreational vehicle. For space, call 703-784-2359, Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Motor Vehicles – State and Local Law
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving. You will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. Effective July 1, 2007, children riding in motor vehicles will be required to be properly restrained in a booster seat until they reach eight (8) years of age. Additionally, the law requires rear-facing child seats be placed only in the back seat of a vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a back seat, the device may be placed in the front passenger seat provided the airbag has been deactivated or there is no airbag equipment.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many states and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a "hands-free" device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Cell phones are prohibited from use while driving aboard MCB Quantico, and this includes hands free devices.
Virginia drivers younger than 18 years of age may not operate a motor vehicle in Virginia while using a cellular telephone or other wireless communication device. The new law prohibits the use of cell phones even if they are considered to be hands-free. It also prohibits text messaging while driving.
Motor Vehicles – Other
If the vehicle is registered in the service member's name only, license plates from their home state or state where they were previously stationed are valid until they expire; license plates from Virginia must then be obtained or those from the home state must be renewed. If the vehicle registration is also in the spouse's name, it must have Virginia plates within 30 days after arrival if residing off base. A car brought into Virginia with an overseas license must be licensed immediately in the home state or Virginia.
Service members who are not legal residents of Virginia may, under the Servicemembers' Civil Relief Act, elect to register vehicles in their state of legal residence or in the host state in which they are serving without having to pay personal property taxes to Virginia. However, the vehicle must be registered only in the name of the exempt military member. When titled jointly with a non-military person, the tax immunity is lost, and it is subject to Virginia property taxation.
The South gate is closed to all traffic from 9pm to 5am daily. The distance from the front gate to the town of Quantico is 3.5 miles. Civilians who wish to visit the town of Quantico should enter through the front (North) gate located at Exit 150A off I-95.
The Commissary and Exchange complex is just inside the back (South) gate. The total distance from the front gate to the back gate through the base is 8 miles.
For information regarding Base Access please go to https://dbids-global.dmdc.mil/enroll#!/
Virginia DMV Locations
There are two Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Offices located in the vicinity of the base. The Woodbridge office is located at 2731 Caton Hill Road and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m. to noon on Saturday. The Stafford office is located at 874 Garrisonville Road and is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m. to noon on Saturday. For more information, call 804-497-7100.