Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state.
Oklahoma State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the military or a dependent, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety website.
Oklahoma traffic laws apply on Tinker AFB.
Seat Belts -- Seatbelt use is mandatory for all personnel while operating either government or privately owned vehicles. A child restraint device must be used when transporting any child four years of age and under.
Vehicle Checks -- All vehicles entering or leaving Tinker AFB are subject to search.
Restricted Areas -- All restricted areas located on the flight line are bounded with a red line.
Oklahoma law requires that your vehicle tags and your driver's license be either from your home state or Oklahoma. For example, you may use your home state vehicle tags and an Oklahoma driver's license, or Oklahoma tags and home state driver's license. The same privileges extend to your family.
However, if members of your family are employed in Oklahoma they are required to obtain an Oklahoma driver's license. If you have an out-of-state driver's license or car tag, it must be from your home state. If you claim Homestead Exemption in Oklahoma, you are required to license your car in Oklahoma.
To obtain a first time Oklahoma driver's license you must go to a driver's license examiner. Information may be obtained from the local driver's license stations throughout the state.
If the car will be registered in Oklahoma, the Certificate of Title, (and Registration Certificate or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin for new vehicles) Insurance Verification Form, and current driver's licenses must be presented at the Tag Agency. Total cost is $60 if there is no lien on the vehicle. With a lien, the cost is $75.
If you're in the military and stationed in Oklahoma or are an OK resident, you can receive a reduced registration rate of $26.
To get the reduced rate, you must complete and submit the U.S. Armed Forces Affidavit (Form 779) along with your other required Registration Documents.
You can register a vehicle at any authorized Oklahoma Tag Agency located throughout the Metro-area.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 60 pounds be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Tinker AFB also offers Motorcycle Safety classes (Active Duty Air Force, Guard and reserves) that are required to ride on base. For more information contact Brent Williams 405-736-7257, Motorcycle Safety Program Manager for Tinker AFB. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.