Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
WSMR offers DMV services on the installation.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
New Mexico State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the MVD New Mexico website.
There is a New Mexico Department of Motor Vehicles office located at 1338 Ripley St, White Sands Missile Range, NM 88002 (Outdoor Recreation).
Services available at this branch office include Driver's License, ID Cards, Title and Registration.
Hours of operation are from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
For additional information contact 575-678-4134 or 575-678-8800.
* Info provided by WSMR Outdoor Rec.
The Las Cruces Motor Vehicle Department is responsible for titling and registering all vehicles and ensuring that new residents have a current New Mexico Driver's License. If you are a new resident to the state of NM, then you must register your vehicle, unless you are considered a non-resident (see department of motor vehicles web site for further information).
Documents required to register your vehicle in New Mexico include:
State inspection is not required if already registered in the state of NM. Vin inspection is required to title your vehicle in the state of NM if coming from a different state.
Fees --New Mexico only is $18-$88+ depending on year and weight.
For motorcycles, a Motorcycle Safety Course Certification is required. This can be obtained through the State. You can call 877-677-8880 for details. Motorcycles must be registered and inspected by the Safety Office yearly. There is now a motorcycle safety course available on White Sands Missile Range call the Safety Office at 575-678-8243 for more information.
All vehicles, including motorcycles, which belong to permanently assigned personnel, must register their vehicles in the office of Building 384. Vehicles may be registered from 8 a.m. -11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.-4 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Visitor Vehicle Pass
Visitors to post must stop outside of the main gate at the Visitor's Center and receive a vehicle pass. The driver of the vehicle must show a valid driver's license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. If driving a rental car, the rental paperwork must be shown in lieu of vehicle registration. If you do not have a base identification, expect to have youMotorcycles have additional requirements. Three-wheeled all-terrain vehicles cannot be operated on this range.
For more information call the Motor Vehicle Registration office at 575-678-5605 r vehicle inspected!
*Info provided by WSMR Outdoor Rec.
WSMR provides DMV services on the installation.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 6 years of age or 60 pounds be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued, and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
*Info provided by WSMR Outdoor Rec.
WSMR officers DMV services on the installation.
All personnel must establish an official need for access to the range. If access to classified defense information is required, personnel must be properly identified, and personal security clearances certified by their respective security office.
Traffic Regulations at White Sands are strictly enforced, and safety is emphasized. Violators will stand trial before a U.S. Magistrate Court when violations involve federal laws. Incidents involving military regulations are referred to unit commanders or section chiefs for action.
Speed Limits -- Speed limits are low on the cantonment area of White Sands Missile Range (WSMR). The highest limit is 35 mph.
Weapons -- Weapons must be registered on the installation if they are maintained for longer than 72 hours.
Seat Belts --All military personnel and DOD civilians operating or riding in a government or privately owned motor vehicle shall properly wear seat belts while on any DOD installation and while conducting any official business off a DOD installation. Military personnel shall wear seat belts both on and off duty. Proper use of an occupant restraint system includes the use of both the lap and shoulder belt. All non-use of occupant protective devices shall be enforced as a primary traffic violation. Failure to use seat belts can result in administrative or disciplinary action, to include suspension of driving privileges on DOD installations and in other areas subject to military supervision.
Child Restraints -- Children are also required to be safely and properly restrained, as follows: