Get the latest on the Coronavirus outbreak for the military community on Military OneSource.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Army
ID/CAC Card Processing
301 C. St.
Yuma, AZ 85365-9498
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
When you buy a vehicle, Arizona law requires that you apply for a title within 15 days of purchase. An electronic title transfer is available, or the buyer may contact a Motor Vehicle Division Office or Authorized Third Party provider and provide a signed off title and title application to complete the process. A title transfer penalty may be assessed if a title application is submitted beyond 15 days of purchase. If your vehicle was registered in another state and you want to operate it in Arizona, you must register it as soon as you become an Arizona resident.
Active Duty Military Personnel based in Arizona who qualify for exemption under the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003 are not considered Arizona residents.
YPG Active Duty Service Members that are not AZ State residents rate the Tax Exemption Form. The Service Member's name must be on registration, for the vehicle, as the exemption is for Active Service Members only. Call the Legal Office at (928) 328-2608 and leave a message or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org, to set-up an appointment. When you go to the YPG Legal Office appointment, have the Make, Model, Year, and VIN number of the vehicle, a Military ID, and drivers license to fill out the form.
Social Security Number
You are required by A.R.S. 28-3158(D)(4) and 28-3165(F), under the authority of Title 42 of the United States Code, to provide your Social Security Number. It will be used to verify your identity
Arizona law requires that you submit proof that your presence in the United States is authorized under federal law. A Driver License Identification Card, Arizona Travel ID, Commercial Driver License. Requirements may change without notice.
You are considered an Arizona resident, if any of the following applies:
You work in Arizona.
You are registered to vote.
You place children in school without paying the tuition rate of a nonresident.
You have a business with an office in Arizona.
You obtain a license or pay school tuition fees at the same rate as an Arizona resident.
Active Duty Military Personnel based in Arizona who qualify for exemption under the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003, are not considered Arizona residents.AZ MVD
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
Insurance Requirements: Arizona State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance, including $25,000 per person, $50,000 for two or more persons, and $15,000 for property coverage.
Yuma Proving Ground
Cell phones are not authorized while driving, on the installation. You may use hands free devices.
Yuma Police Department
The Law - Title 21 of the Yuma City Code, Chapter 211 Section 9 and 10. A person shall not drive a motor vehicle on a highway while driving using a portable communications device.
You may use a Hands-Free Mobile Device - A portable communication device/system which allows a driver to use the device without holding it while driving a motor vehicle.
A violation is a civil traffic violation. A person found to be in violation of this Section and not involved in a motor vehicle crash is subject to a civil penalty of one hundred ($100) dollars plus any other penalty assessment authorized by law. A person found to be in violation of this Section and is involved in a motor vehicle crash is subject to a civil penalty of two hundred fifty ($250) dollars plus any other penalty assessments authorized by law.
New Regulatory Guidance for Motorcycle & ATV use and PPE
HELMETS - All personnel must wear DOT Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard certified helmets. All helmets shall be properly fastened under the chin.
EYE PROTECTI0N - Eye protection designed to meet or exceed ANSI Z87.1, for impact and shatter resistance includes goggles, wraparound glasses, or a full-face shield (properly attached to a helmet). A windshield or fairing does not constitute eye protection.
FOOT PROTECTION - Foot protection includes sturdy over-the-ankle footwear that affords protection for the feet and ankles (durable leather or ballistic-type cloth athletic shoes that cover the ankles may be worn).
PROTECTIVE CLOTHING - Protective clothing includes long-sleeved shirt or jacket, long trousers, and full-fingered gloves or mittens made from leather or other abrasion-resistant material. Motorcycle jackets and pants constructed of abrasion-resistant materials such as leather, KevlarR, or CorduraR and containing impact-absorbing padding are strongly encouraged.
Riders are encouraged to select PPE that incorporates fluorescent colors and retro-reflective material.
All privately owned vehicles must continue to be licensed, registered, inspected and insured according to state and local laws. Rental vehicles are considered POVs for purposes of post entry and rental contracts serve as proof of proper licensing, registration and insurance.
The requirement remains to show a Common Access Card, Military ID, or other Government-issued or approved photo identification for access to YPG. All vehicles are subject to search at any time, which has always been true. Anyone entering YPG must also have a valid reason to do so. Existing stickers can remain on vehicles until such time that they expire. Motorists are advised to remove the stickers upon expiration or upon transfer of vehicle ownership.
If you don't have any of the above requirements, for access, to the installation, you will need to be vetted. All required vetting is done at the Visitor Control Center (VCC), during regular hours of operation. If during a weekend/holiday, vetting will be performed at the various Access Control Points (i.e., Howard Cantonment Area).
For questions, please contact the VCC, at (928) 328-6668/6689.