SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
Department of the Air Force
Military Personnel Section (Customer Service) ID/CAC Card Processing
310 W. Van Matre Ave.
Eglin AFB, FL 32542
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state.
Visit https://www.usa.gov/motor-vehicle-services for state-specific websites.
Florida state law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. Your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving.
Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the Division of Motor Vehicles website.
On installation vehicle registration is no longer required as of March 30, 2007. Authorized identification cards will be used to grant entry through the gates.
The following documents must be on hand while operating a privately owned vehicle on the installation:
NOTE: All documents must be valid and current.
A Florida Operator's License is required 30 days after you become a permanent resident. If you have a valid license from another state, you need only take a vision test. An original Social Security card and two IDs with full name and date of birth are required. With tickets or violations, a road signs test and vision test are required. Handbooks are available at the exam stations.
Eglin Air Force Base Policies:
Eglin Air Force Base is a federal national defense installation. All vehicles on this base are subject to search and inspection at any time by Eglin security forces. Driving on Eglin AFB is a privilege, not a right. Said privileges may be suspended or revoked for cause at any time.
Motor vehicle operators on Eglin AFB are prohibited from using cellphones while operating a vehicle on the installation. Hands-free devices are mandatory; walkie-talkie cellphones are not considered hands-free. Severe penalties start at a seven-day suspension and escalate from there. Eglin is one of the largest installations in the Air Force and you do not want to be without driving privileges.
The displaying or use of any type of video recording device to include radar devices is prohibited on Eglin AFB. Any video-recording or radar device will not be visible or plugged into any type of power supply. Video-recording devices and radar built into the dashboard must be turned off.
All vehicle occupants must wear seatbelts. Children 4 years of age or younger and weighing 45 pounds or less must be properly restrained in federally approved child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
It is prohibited to leave children 7 years of age and younger in an unattended or unsupervised vehicle.
The speed limit for Eglin AFB is 25 mph unless otherwise posted. Traffic violations on Eglin AFB can be considered state violations as well as may affect insurance rates. Eglin AFB has many one-way streets, so drivers should be alert for changes in traffic directions. NOTE: Speeding in base housing and school zones may result in an automatic suspension.
If involved in an on-base accident, the driver must stop and call the Eglin security forces at 850-882-2502 OR 850-882-2503 to report it. For off-installation accidents, the driver must contact the local police, Florida Highway Patrol or the county sheriff’s office. NOTE: A driver convicted of leaving the scene of a crash involving personal injury or death will have his or her license revoked. The driver is also subject to criminal penalties.
All restricted locations are clearly marked; unauthorized individuals caught in these areas will be prosecuted.
You are unauthorized to take photographs of the flight line or of any aircraft without pre-approved authorization from the command post or respective job control agency.
Persons residing in dormitories and any other temporary lodging facility must register and surrender their firearms/ammunition to security forces, Building 272, for storage in the security forces armory immediately upon arrival on installation. Personnel living in the on-installation housing area may store their firearms and ammunition in their quarters, but weapons must be registered prior to storage. Call 850-882-5009 (dormitory, temporary lodging, etc.) or 850-882-5368 (on-installation housing) for additional information.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Seat belt use:
You and your passengers must always wear seat belts while driving; otherwise, you will be ticketed and issued fines. Children should be in the rear seats until at least age 12, since deployed front seat air bags can be dangerous to children.
Child safety seats:
Children should always be buckled up or in a proper child restraint, and everyone should be buckled up for safety. Read the following safety tips:
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the state Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Cellphones and other digital devices while driving:
Many states and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cellphones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the state Department of Motor Vehicles’ website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for anyone violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a hands-free device if you must use a cellphone or other personal digital assistant while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on all military installations worldwide.
REAL ID Act:
Effective January 1, 2010, you must provide the following original documents to obtain a Florida driver’s license or Florida state identification card:
NOTE: If you have legally changed your name by marriage or court order, you must submit the original or a certified copy of your marriage certificate or court order. No photocopies will be accepted unless certified by the issuing authority. For multiple name changes, you must show a document trail linking your current name to your chosen proof of identity. Marriage licenses must be from a governmental agency; church-issued licenses cannot be accepted.
You can obtain your Florida driver’s license or identification card at the Eglin AFB Office (Building 210) by appointment only.