Showing 1 - 1 OF 1
Military Personnel Flight
4475 England Avenue
Nellis AFB, NV 89191
Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Nevada State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Military members, and their spouses are not required to register their POV in Nevada; however if you choose to download the VP-203 or VP-203S (for vehicles in spouse's name). Option your CC signature on the form and bring the form, your LES, proof of previous registration and the vehicle to the DMV.
The DMV recommends that you make an appointment using DMV Dash Pass versus just showing up at the DMV.
If you are coming from another state, please register your vehicles at the same time you obtain your driver's license, within 60 days after you establish residency in Nevada or before the out-of-state registration expires. For details and specific information visit the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Headlights must be used from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, and whenever conditions make it impossible to see clearly at least 1,000 feet ahead.
High beams should not be used within 500 feet of approaching traffic, or 300 feet of trailing traffic.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
The use of a hand-held cell phone, accessing the Internet or texting while driving are illegal throughout the state.
Exceptions to this law include:
Leaving a child younger than 7 years old in a vehicle without proper supervision (someone at least 12 years old) is considered a misdemeanor, if doing so endangers the child's health and safety.
The state also considers leaving a child in a situation where physical or mental harm may take place (due to abuse or neglect) to be child endangerment.
It is also illegal to leave a pet in a vehicle in either extreme cold or heat. Officials may use force to remove the animal from the vehicle.
With the exception of those under 6 years old, anyone riding in a motor vehicle must wear a safety belt, if the vehicle is required to have safety belts.
Vehicles built in 1968 and newer must be equipped with lap belts.
Vehicles manufactured in 1970 and newer must be equipped with lap belts and shoulder belts for the front seats.
It is illegal for anyone under the age of 18 years old to ride in the back of a flatbed or open pickup truck unless for the purpose of ranching, farming or parades.
Motorists can call *647 (or *NHP) on their cell phones to alert the Nevada Highway Patrol about accidents, disabled vehicles, hazardous situations, and potentially drunk drivers.
If you ride a motorcycle, you are required to wear a helmet. In addition, on cycles without windscreens, you must protect yourself by using glasses, goggles, or face shields.
Children who are younger than 6 years old and weighs less than 60 lbs. must ride in an approved safety restraint system.
Children are generally safest riding in the back seat. In fact, with vehicles containing front seat passenger air bags, infants should always ride in the back seat.
If you don't properly restrain child passengers, you can be fined, forced to perform community service, and have your license suspended.
Nellis AFB requires that all cell phone usage while driving be hands free. Driving while your phone is on speaker, is not considered hands free while driving on-base; however, it is allowed off-base.
View more information on Employee-Certification and Reporting System (ECARS) for Privately Owned Vehicles