Get the latest on the Coronavirus outbreak for the military community on Military OneSource.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Air Force
ID/CAC Card Processing - Lackland AFB
1561 Stewart St
Lackland AFB, TX 78236
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Texas State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Active duty military personnel with a valid driver's license from another state do not have to get a Texas driver's license or Texas license plates. However, military retirees who stay in San Antonio must obtain them.
How to get your vehicle registered in Texas:
Auto Liability Insurance
In Texas, automobiles must be covered by minimum limits of liability insurance in accordance with the Texas Motor Safety Responsibility Act of 1981. There are minimum limits for bodily injury liability and property damage liability for any licensed motor vehicle. Current proof of financial responsibility (usually automobile insurance) is required to obtain or renew a driver's license, to register a car, and upon issuance of a safety inspection sticker.
Annual automobile inspections are required in Texas and must be completed before registering an automobile or obtaining a Texas license plate. Vehicle inspections are done at some local gas stations and currently cost $14.50 for in-state vehicles.
It is no longer necessary to register your vehicle on base. It is necessary that you have proof of insurance and your vehicle registration with you at all times. All IDs are checked at the gates; be sure you have your military ID or CAC card with you and ready to present to the gate guards.
The base speed limit is 30 miles per hour unless otherwise posted. Please note that when passing troops marching in formation, the speed limit is 10 miles per hour. In housing or school areas, the speed limit is 15 miles per hour.
Texas traffic laws apply to Lackland. Seat belts are mandatory. Right turns on red are permitted unless otherwise marked.
Helmets are mandatory, on and off duty. Texas state law does not require riders to wear a helmet. However, the Air Force still requires helmet usage, as well as reflective vests, covered shoes, and eye protection, both on and off base.
If you ride motorcycles, please check in with your unit Motorcycle Safety Monitor to ensure that you are in compliance with high-risk registration requirements.
Car Insurance -- Liability insurance is mandatory. There is a minimum liability insurance for the State of Texas.
Vehicle Checks -- All vehicles entering or leaving Lackland AFB are subject to no-notice search.
Accidents -- On-base vehicle accidents must be reported to the Security Police Law Enforcement Desk.
Seat belts are mandatory both on and off-base. Both the seat belt and speed limit requirements are strictly enforced. Children under the age of 2 or weighing less than 40 pounds must be in car seats at all times. At that point they are allowed to sit in booster seats until they reach 4'9" tall. State, local, and base officials are authorized to stop vehicles for suspected non-use of seat belts.
It is illegal for minors to ride in the bed of pickup trucks.
Access to the flight line is limited, and you must have a special license to operate a vehicle on the flight line.
All ID and CAC cards must be registered through the Defense Biometric Identification System (DBIDS). This is a force protection program. You will have to accomplish this again at Lackland even if you have registered at your last base. Please register at Pass & Registration in Building 5616 or the visitor centers.
Texas state traffic laws apply on Randolph AFB.
Seat Belts -- Seat belts are mandatory. State, local and base officials can stop vehicles for suspected non-use of seat belts. Child seats/restraints are mandatory for children under 40 pounds
Vehicle Checks -- All vehicles entering or leaving Randolph AFB are subject to search.
Motorcycle Safety -- Helmets are mandatory. The Air Force requires helmet usage, as well as reflective vests, covered shoes, and eye protection, both on and off base.
Accidents -- Vehicle accidents should be reported to the Security Forces Desk Sergeant. Never leave the scene of an accident, have someone call for you if possible.
Weapons Registration -- Special permits are required for concealed handguns. Contact the Dept. of Public Safety. When on base, weapons must be stored at the armory. Please call the Security Forces for further information.
Emergencies -- Call 911 for all emergencies on base.
New residents moving into Texas, who have a valid driver license from their home state, have 30 days after entry into the state to secure a Texas driver license. Generally, Texas driver's licenses cost $24 and are valid for six years. Written, driving, and vision tests are required for those who have never been licensed or who have an expired out-of-state license.
Procedures are based on age. Applicants, age 18 and over, with a VALID out-of-state driver license must:
Additional information for applicants under age 18 with a VALID out-of-state driver license:
In addition to the items listed above, applicants under the age of 18 applying for a first-time Texas driver license and presenting either a valid out-of-state instruction permit or driver license must present:
Military Installation Specific Regulations:
Communication Devices -- Vehicle drivers will not use hand-held or hands-free communication devices such as cell phones, two way radios, or electronic devices such as personal data assistants (PDA's) while driving a vehicle. Vehicle drivers will operate these devices only once the vehicle has been safely stopped and the vehicle placed in park.
This policy applies to all military and civilian personnel who operate a privately owned motor vehicle, Government Owned vehicles or Government Service Administration vehicle on Fort Sam Houston and Camp Bullis.
The Provost Marshal's Office will have the authority to stop vehicle operator who fail to comply with this policy and issue a DD Form 1408, Armed Forces Traffic Citation.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving; you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 5 years of age and 36" in height be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while MilitaryINSTALLATIONS - U.S. Department of Defense 9 Oct 2012 driving.
Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Note: San Antonio has just passed a new “no texting while driving” law in the city. All cell phones in school zones are prohibited and drivers will be fined if caught on the phone while driving in the zone.