Showing 1 - 1 OF 1
Personal Support Detachment - ID
2000 West Marine View Drive
Bldg 2000, Rm 140
Everett, WA 98207
Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
If you drive in Washington State you are required to have auto insurance. Minimum requirements for automobileinsurance coverage in Washington State are as follows:$25,000 of bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident.$50,000 of bodily injury or death of any two persons in any one accident$10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
If you're flying into/out of SEATAC Airport or Paine Field and need a ride to/from the Everett area, make arrangements ahead of time; either with your command, your sponsor, a friend or one of the commercial shuttles. The two main shuttle services are:
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Washington State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Licensing website.
Department of Defense has done away with decals but you must register your vehicle on base with Visitor control center 425-304-3260. In order to register your vehicle on base you will need the following:
The traffic laws of the State of Washington are strictly enforced on all portions of Naval Station Everett. Speed limits are enforced by radar. Seatbelts are required to be worn while aboard the Station & within the State of Washington.
Motorcycles -- Motorcyclists are required to pass a traffic safety training course and to wear helmets with eye protection, gloves, long trousers/shirts, and hard-soled shoes or boots. Reflective yellow or orange vest with 1 1/2 inch wide vertical or horizontal retro-reflective strips front and back is required while on base.
Bicycles -- Bicyclists are now required to wear reflective vest or white or highly visible shirts at all times while on government streets and roadways both day and night.
All traffic accidents regardless of the degree of the accident are to be reported to base security. Parties involved are to remain on the scene until police arrive to conduct an investigation. On the Smokey Point, only accidents with injuries must remain on the scene till local police arrive. However a full report of the incident should be done within 24 hours. Be sure to contact your insurance company as well.
No photographs of any kind are allowed on Naval Station Everett at anytime without previous written authorization. Please contact the base Public Affairs office for further information at 425-304-3202 or DSN 312-727-3202.
Cell phones cannot be used while driving on the base, regardless of whether or not a hands-free device is used.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, or you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children be properly restrained. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat. For complete details on appropriate child restraints, please visit the State Department of Licensing.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Licensing website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Licensing website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone while driving. Cell phones CANNOT be used while operating a motor vehicle on Naval Station Everett.
The Department of Defense Instruction 1000.27 establishes a mass transit benefit program for Outside the National Capital Region. In accordance with this Instruction the Department of the Navy (DON) has implemented the Transportation Incentive Program (TIP) for DON employees to help reduce their daily contribution to traffic congestion and air pollution, as well as expand their commuting alternatives. DON members are eligible for transit benefits up to $255.00 per month (parking fees are not included) for specific pre-approved commuter mass transit transportation costs not to exceed actual expenses. To participate in this program is processed through the Transportation Incentive Program System (TIPS) website at https://tips.navy.mil.