Showing 1 - 1 OF 1
ID/CAC Card Processing
520 Main Gate Way
Dover AFB, DE 19902
Contact information for key programs and services at this installation.
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the https://dmv.de.gov/ for links to state-specific websites.
Delaware State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the https://dmv.de.gov/ website.
As a result of the enactment of the National Voter Rights Act of 1993, any U.S. citizen residing in the State of Delaware, who meets the eligibility requirements, is afforded the opportunity to register to vote while obtaining or renewing a driver's license. Military members that opt to obtain a Delaware drivers license should be aware that it is their responsibility to let the DMV clerk know whether or not they intend to change their voter registration to the State of Delaware. It is not mandatory to do so in order to obtain a Delaware drivers license.
Ref Delaware Department of Highway Safety, (https://ohs.delaware.gov/pedestrian.shtml) and AFI 91-207 Speed limits: Delaware state traffic laws apply on Dover AFB. The speed limit on base is
30 mph unless otherwise posted. The housing area is 20 mph, parking lots are 5 mph and the school zones are 10 mph.
Child Restraints/Seat Belts
Seat belts are mandatory on and off-base for all occupants of the vehicle.
State, local, and base officials can stop vehicles for suspected non use of seat belts. Delaware's child restraint law reads: "All children must be properly restrained in a federally approved child safety seat appropriate for the child's age, weight and height up to 8 years of age or 65 lbs whichever comes first." Additionally, children 8 through 15 years old are required to be properly secured in a seatbelt. Children under 12 years old or 65 inches in height are still required to sit in the back seat if there are active airbags in the front passenger seating position.
All vehicles entering or leaving Dover AFB are subject to search. 100% ID check currently in effect.
Military members who operate a motorcycle or moped, on or off base, are required to have completed an approved motorcycle safety course and must possess proof of training. Helmets and protective/reflective clothing (as outlined in AFI 91-207) are required for active duty motorcycle, moped, and bicycle riders on and off base. Although Delaware is a helmet optional state, all military members are required to wear a DOT approved helmet on or off base. On any federal installation to include Dover AFB helmets are mandatory regardless of the operator’s affiliation.
Operation of motorized personal transportation devices is prohibited on the main operational side of Dover AFB
Motorized personal transportation devices are as follows:
• Motorized Skateboards
• Motorized Scooters
• Hover Boards
• Motorized One-Wheeled Devices
Devices are allowed on housing side with the following measures in place:
• Must operate on bike paths or sidewalks
• Must not exceed 15 MPH or lower speed limit as posted
• Must wear Personal Protective Equipment as follows:
Standard bicycle helmet
Reflective gear during the hours of darkness
Closed toed shoes
No headphones, earphones or other listening devices
No cell phone use or other hand-held device when riding the device
No alcoholic beverages while riding and must not be under the influence of alcohol or other substances
Walkers/joggers are encouraged to use walking and jogging paths and not the roadways. Headphones can be worn, however only in walking and jogging areas where traffic does not present a hazard to the pedestrian.
All vehicle accidents must be reported to the Security Police as soon as possible after the accident. Vehicles should not be moved unless they obstruct the flow of traffic or create a safety hazard.
Delaware State, Federal, and Military criminal codified laws apply on Dover AFB. Personnel may be detained or apprehended by Security Police for violating these laws and/or released to civilian authorities. They may be subject to military, civilian, or federal prosecution.
Report criminal offenses to Security Forces at 302-677-2100.
Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs carries severe penalties, including fines and imprisonment. In addition, a conviction results in higher insurance rates. Also, if windshield wipers are on because of weather conditions, headlights must be on. Delaware utilizes a point system to penalize traffic law violators. Each violation carries an assigned number of points, and when the total reaches a maximum of 12, the driver's license is suspended. Points are charged to your record for violations committed in other states.
The Flightline Restricted area includes the Mass Parking Area and Hangars as Temporary RAs when aircraft are present. The Industrial Maintenance Complex (IMC) to include Ramp Road, Transient Parking Ramp, and Temporary RAs when aircraft are not present is designated Controlled Areas. Controlled Areas also include Ramp Road, all flightline areas that are North and East of the post and cable barriers adjacent to Ramp Road and between bldg. 793 to bldg. 706, bldg. 502 to bldg. 140. IAW IDP 31-101. Movement into these areas are coordinated through Base Defense Operations Center (BDOC) at 677-6664/6666 and/or Base Operations 677-4192/4185.
Cell Phone Usage
Electronic Communication Devices is a DE state Law and must be “hands free” via DE Title #21 Section 4176c. The only exception applies to Government owned/contracted cell phones with a walkie-talkie function may be used in the walkie-talkie mode without a hands free device IAW DAFBI 31-218 Motor Vehicle Traffic Supervision Regulation.
All vehicles/drivers operating on Dover AFB must have vehicle registration, driver's license, and proof of insurance. DAFBI 31-218 is under rewrite however, should be published shortly after the new year which will completely remove Dover AFB vehicle decals. They will no longer exist.
100% ID card check is in effect from 2200 hrs to 0600 hrs when entering the base. All other times, the “Trusted Traveler” is the process for allowing an authorized credentialed member to bring guest(s) onto DAFB without the individual going through the vetting process IAW SFI 31-118 Law Enforcement/Security Standards & Procedures.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the go to https://dmv.de.gov/.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 6 years of age and 60 pounds be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
The state of Delaware and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Automobile insurance is required in Delaware by state law. Individuals under the age of 25, married or single, will find the rates quite high, even with perfect driving records. The Delaware Safety Council and the base periodically offer an inexpensive 6-hour safe drivers course which can lower the cost of liability coverage by 10-15% for three years and gives the driver 3 good points toward his/her license.
Four-wheel drive vehicles, SUVs, and pickup trucks are very costly to insure in Delaware. If you can keep your insurance (at a lower cost) at your previous location without violating the tri-state law make sure it meets Delaware minimum requirements and keep it in force until you can qualify for low-cost insurance here.
Delaware minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Delaware Minimum Car Insurance Requirements