Meet overall wellness goals and manage COVID-19 stress with My MilLife Guide. Learn how to opt in to eight weeks of helpful texts delivered to your device.
SHOWING 1 - 1 OF 1 RESULTS
United States Army
ID Card Center
212 Custer Avenue
South Entrance to Basement
Fort Riley, KS 66442
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Kansas State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver’s license in order to operate a vehicle. The term “vehicle” generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state license within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver’s licensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Child Restraints -- The Child Passenger Safety Act (KSA 8-1344) is a primary law and you can be stopped solely for this violation. Children under the age of four must be in a federally approved child safety seat. Children four, but under 14 must be protected by a safety belt. This applies to vehicles designed for carrying 10 or fewer passengers. Convictions carry $20 fine plus court costs. Persons under the age of 14 are prohibited from riding in any portion of the vehicle not intended for passengers; this includes riding in the back of pickup trucks. The fine is $20 plus court costs and is a traffic infraction.
Seat Belts -- Kansas requires that all vehicle occupants wear seat belts while driving both on and off post. This includes the driver and passengers of all military vehicles, as well as privately owned vehicles. The Safety Belt Use Act (KSA 8-2501): Drivers are cited for this violation only in combination with a separate moving violation. The fine for violation is $10 including court costs (cost subject to change without notification). This applies to vehicles designed for carrying 10 or fewer passengers. This includes pickup trucks registered for 12,000 pounds and farm trucks registered for 16,000 pounds. Additional information can be received from the Kansas Safety Belt Education Office, which is a program of the Kansas Department of Transportation. 1-800-416-2522
Vehicle Checks -- Field sobriety tests and vehicle safety checks are randomly administered during the year.
Accidents -- All traffic accidents occurring on Fort Riley are subject to the Kansas state laws and are processed in accordance with Kansas's statutes. All vehicle owners must carry proof of liability insurance in their vehicles at all times.
Criminal Offenses -- Military personnel are subject to the UCMJ. Family members are subject to the Kansas statutes.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location. Many states regulate the following:
Learn more about motor vehicle laws in your state at the Distraction.gov State Laws page.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 7 years of age, 80 pounds and 57" in height be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Valid ID -- You must make sure that you have a valid Military or Civilian photo ID card. Soldiers/Civilians with non-ID card family members, the current policy is "that as long as the ID card holder is with the family member, there is no problem to gain access to the Installation." The soldier/civilian can vouch for the other person(s) in the vehicle. However, this policy changes frequently. The Fort Riley Operations Center (FROC) makes the call as they change the orders for force protection. You can reach the FROC at 785-239-2222. Just ask to speak with the person in charge of the Guard Force for current information.